關於荷蘭

冰上樂趣

溜冰在荷蘭

雖然不一定每年發生,但當荷蘭結凍時,全國都會陷入「溜冰狂熱」中,而且非常輕易地就可以找到適合溜冰的場地,荷蘭的大部分國土都低於海平面,由綿密複雜的大小運河系統來保持地土乾燥。正因為荷蘭由大大小小運河貫串其中,所以非常容易找到適合溜冰的場地,只要結冰到一定厚度,運河瞬間就能變身為溜冰場。

並非只有鄉村才有享受溜冰的權力,大城市如阿姆斯特丹、烏特勒支及代爾夫特都具有綿密的渠道行經老城區,只要這些河道一結冰,馬上搖身成為溜冰場。有些比較長的溜冰河道,一旁甚至有販售熱巧克力及餅乾的攤販。

最為人所稱道的溜冰盛事莫過於「Elfstedentocht」,或稱之為十一城市巡迴賽,亦即在自荷蘭北邊開始,十一座城鎮中,蜿蜒將近200公里長,在其結冰的運河、湖泊及河面上溜冰。始自1909年的第一次巡迴賽,至今只舉辦過14次,因為不是每年冬天都夠冷,必須達溜冰標準的厚度-15公厘,才可舉辦比賽。每到冬季,全國上下都十分期待是否有機會能舉辦此盛事。

不過即使結冰厚度達到標準,也並不代表你可以參與盛事:必須成為協會成員才能報名參與,憑邀請函才能索取賽事門票,有些成員甚至只被允許在偶數或奇數年才能參加。不過當多達一萬六千名幸運兒得以參與盛事,經過200公里蜿蜒的溜冰道,在終點等待他們,為他們加油的可是上百萬舉國歡騰的民眾。

About Holland

Ice Fun

Skating in The Netherlands

It doesn’t happen every year, but when Holland freezes over, everybody goes crazy for ice skating. And finding the proper venue is not difficult. A large part of the Netherlands is below sea level, and kept dry by an elaborate network of smaller and larger canals which pump out rising groundwater. As a consequence, the Dutch landscape is crisscrossed by thousands of shallow waterways, ideal for ice skating once the thickness of the ice is sufficient.

But not all the fun is in the vast, flat countryside: many Dutch cities such as Amsterdam, Utrecht and Delft have an extensive canals running through the old town, and as soon as these old transportation waterways freeze over, the urbanites don their skates and slip onto the ice for some quick pirouettes, a longer trek across town or just to have a quick hot chocolate and some freshly baked cookies at one of the "Koek en Zoopies" food stands that are erected on the ice.

The most famous national skating event is without a doubt the "Elfstedentocht", or 11-Cities Tour, a skating event that meanders along a 200 kilometer track over frozen canals, lakes and rivers in Friesland, the Dutch province in the very north of the tiny country, passing through eleven towns in the region. Since its first run in 1909, is has only been held 14 times, because most Dutch winters are too mild to meet the strict criteria for ice thickness – 15 centimeters minimum. Every winter, the nation watches the thermometer drop, and waits anxiously for the verdict of the official "ice master" for a go or no-go.

Even thick ice is no guarantee that you can skate in this national event: only association members are allowed to participate, and tickets are issued by invitation only, with some members granted a slot in even numbered years and others in odd numbered years. But when the 16,000 or so lucky ones finally gather at the starting line for the grueling 200 kilometer track across the frigid and windblown Frisian landscape, they know that up to a million and a half spectators will be lining the route to cheer them on.