關於荷蘭

奧賽羅在台北

番茄帶來的革命

在1960年代後期,荷蘭陷入了身分認同危機。再依方面,荷蘭是一個非常傳統的-甚至可以說是保守的國家,堅守歷史悠久的傳統,老式的價值觀仍然為當時社會的主流標準,但同時,當時的氛圍籠罩在搖滾樂、「自由愛」、嬉皮、長頭髮、女權,學運經常性地挑戰當時的統治者。

這場抗爭甚至延燒到舞台上,在當時為人所熟知的「番茄革命」,被剝奪權利的年輕演員,對他們在舞台上的前輩們丟擲番茄,肇因於這些前輩採取過時的方式詮釋舞台劇,年輕演員沒有機會上舞台。這些具反叛精神的年輕演員後來成立自己的劇團,集結各領域的菁英,重新探索更多戲劇的可能性。

至今,荷蘭劇團蓬勃發展,而且在海外獲得許多回響,儘管荷蘭文的字幕對於一般非荷蘭文母語的觀眾來說稍嫌艱澀,然而隨著現代化,許多現代化的工具如數位即時字幕助益甚多,另外,能說多國語言的演員也是讓荷蘭戲劇表演能輸出到海外的主要原因,像是維也納、紐約、墨爾本及台北。

去年,我們觀賞阿姆斯特丹劇團在台北國家戲劇院的表演,詮釋莎士比亞名劇奧賽羅,將劇中主角奧賽羅嫉妒以及報復的性格詮釋得淋漓盡致,帶給台灣的觀眾不少震撼。經典舊劇新玩,在視覺上給觀眾刺激,探索舊經典述事的角度,也成功塑造荷蘭戲劇勇於挑戰探索個多可能性的性格。

About Holland

Othello in Taipei

Throwing tomatoes for change

In the late 1960's, the Netherlands was caught in an identity crisis. On the one hand, Holland was still a very traditional - some might even say conservative - country where time-honored traditions held fast and where old-fashioned values still ruled all aspects of everyday life. But change was in the air and rock music, "free love", hippies, long hair, woman's rights, student protests were challenging the established order.

The battle was even taken to the stage; during the famous "Tomato Riots" (Actie Tomaat), disenfranchised young actors took to throwing tomatoes at their older colleagues as they performed a traditional – and in the view of the young Turks, an inexcusably stuffy and outdated – version of Shakespeare's The Tempest. Rebellious young theatre makers founded their own ensembles and creative new collectives, vowing to re-explore the limits of stage drama.

Today, Dutch theatre is alive and well, and doing surprisingly well overseas, in spite of the fact that the subtleties of the Dutch language are fairly inaccessible to anyone who is not a native speaker. Modern tools such as digital real-time subtitles and, of course, multilingual actors have allowed Dutch drama to travel wide and far: to Vienna, New York, Melbourne, and, of course, Taipei.

Last year saw a boisterous Dutch Othello and his brooding sidekick Iago roam the stage in the National Theatre in Taipei, where Toneelgroup Amsterdam was performing Shakespeare's classic play about revenge and jealousy for a delighted Taiwanese audience. It was a visually stunning staging of the classic play that explored the boundaries of traditional storytelling for the stage and showed the world that contemporary Dutch theatre has made good on its promise to challenge, re-invent and move on.