關於荷蘭

最新消息……

荷蘭的媒體新榮景

荷蘭的大眾媒體系統相當特殊,及至八零年代,幾乎所有的廣播及電視頻道都是由政府控制的,撥出時間及資金分配,全依機構的政治傾向和宗教傾向而定,而撥出時間及資金也決定了他們的會員數。

但自從八零年代政府鬆綁了廣播和電視的相關法規,如今政府贊助的廣播及電視頻道也面臨了商業廣播及電視台的激烈競爭。荷蘭是歐洲國家中有線電視普及率最高的國家(高達百分之95),而現今的荷蘭觀眾及聽眾也有機會可接觸國際性的廣播及電視台,不過即使如此,國家的三個公共電視台仍有很高的收視率。

荷蘭人也允許有不同的聲音,從我們傳統的廣播系統就可以略知一二。荷蘭人喜歡表達意見,非常喜歡表達,我們的第一個廣播節目早在1919年就開始了,當時是在荷蘭境內的一個海濱小鎮Scheveningen開播。

在荷蘭,新聞自由受到憲法保障,保障言論自由,荷蘭公開表達不同的意見和聲音,針對各式議題熱烈地辯論也是常見的景況。但在一般狀況下,媒體討論公共議題也十分給予尊重及文明,大多數的荷蘭紙本媒體均為大報,我們似乎對小報八卦沒有太大的興趣。

About Holland

"... this just in"

The media landscape in The Netherlands

The Dutch have a unique approach to public broadcasting. Up to the 1980's, virtually all radio and TV channels were controlled by the government, and airtime and funds were allocated to formal organizations who reflected political or religious currents, with the amount of airtime and money depending on how many members they had.

But since the introduction of new legislation in the late 1980's the airwaves have been opened, and nowadays the formal government-sponsored public radio and TV channels face stiff competition from commercial stations. Holland has one of the most extensive cable TV networks in Europe (over 95% of households have cable TV) , and present-day Dutch viewers and listeners also have access to a wide range of domestic and foreign channels. Yet the three national public TV stations still enjoy high audience shares, and continue to dominate the TV landscape.

The Netherlands has a well-deserved reputation for allowing different voices and opinions to be expressed, and the traditional broadcasting system reflected these values. The Dutch love their opinions, and they love to voice them even more. It should come as no surprise that the first ever radio program was broadcast from the coastal town of Scheveningen in the Netherlands as far back as 1919.

In The Netherlands, freedom of the press is guaranteed by the constitution, as is free speech. The Dutch openly encourage expressing diverse opinions and tastes, and seem to love the enthusiastic debate that often ensues. But in general, the lively public discourse in the media is quite civil and respectful. Most newspapers in the country are broadsheets and Dutch readers do not seem to have developed a taste for sensationalist tabloids.